The universe awaits

Science Advisory Council

While we can’t predict all the science the Giant Magellan Telescope will enable, we can envision the areas it will make important contributions, beginning with research programs that are beyond the grasp of contemporary telescopes.
Our Science Advisory Council reviews key programs such as instrument capabilities and observational requirements of the Giant Magellan Telescope in its potential for scientific discovery.
  • Dennis Zaritsky

    Dennis Zaritsky

    Chair, University of Arizona

    Dr. Dennis Zaritsky serves as the Steward Observatory’s Deputy Director as well as a Professor of Astronomy at the University of Arizona. Dennis’s research interests span a range of topics primarily focused on extragalactic observational astronomy. He currently chairs the Giant Magellan Telescope’s Science Advisory Council. Dennis obtained his B.S. in Physics with Honor from the California Institute of Technology and his Ph.D. in Astronomy from the University of Arizona.

  • Rebecca Bernstein

    Rebecca Bernstein

    Co-Chair, Chief Scientist, Giant Magellan Telescope

    Dr. Bernstein is the Project Scientist for GMTO and plays a leading role in ensuring that the observatory and its instruments will enable scientists at the Founder institutions to meet the project’s scientific goals. She interfaces with the technical and scientific community and represents the project at scientific conferences around the world. She is an accomplished optical designer and builder of scientific instruments, having designed and built a high-resolution spectrograph for Magellan and carried out the optical design for several others. She held professorships at the University of Michigan and the University of California, Santa Cruz before coming to GMTO. While at the University of California she led the design of a spectrograph for the Thirty Meter Telescope. She is a Staff Astronomer at the Observatories of the Carnegie Institution.

  • Daniel Apai

    Daniel Apai

    Associate Professor of Astronomy and Planetary Sciences, The University of Arizona
  • Edo Berger

    Edo Berger

    Professor of Astronomy, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Robert Blum

    Robert Blum

    Acting Director, Vera C. Rubin Observatory
  • Brendan Bowler

    Brendan Bowler

    Assistant Professor in the Department of Astronomy, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Daniel Fabricant

    Daniel Fabricant

    Associate Director, Optical & Infrared Division, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Mike Gladders

    Mike Gladders

    Professor, Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, The University of Chicago
  • Jenny Greene

    Jenny Greene

    Assistant Professor of Astrophysics, Princeton
  • Narae Hwang

    Narae Hwang

    Head of the Science Group and Project Scientist, Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
  • Andrew Newman

    Andrew Newman

    Staff Astronomer at Carnegie Institution for Science
  • Roderik Overzier

    Roderik Overzier

    Staff Astronomer at Observatório Nacional in Rio de Janeiro
  • Casey Papovich

    Casey Papovich

    Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Texas A&M University
  • Christian Reichardt

    Christian Reichardt

    University of Melbourne
  • Rob Sharp

    Rob Sharp

    Australian National University
  • Rob Simcoe

    Rob Simcoe